Second Appointment: The Aftermath

I had my second appointment with my new rheumatologist last week (sorry it took so long to post an update, I’ve had my hands full with a sick kid). I’m glad to report that the appointment went much better than the first one. Then again there was so much room for improvement there wasn’t really anywhere to go but up.

One interesting change was that she had a 3rd year resident working with her this time, so I spent a long time talking to him. Then he relayed a lot of the information to her. I don’t know if that made a difference in how much she believed me, but it did change the communication dynamic.

I’m having trouble with my hip right now, and that dominated conversation. I find it very interesting when I brought up some topics they were ignored or shot down. When I said that I was in a lot of pain she looked completely dumbfounded. She honestly looked shocked and confused that I would be in pain when I was experiencing inflammation in my hip. She asked if I tried Ibuprofen and was I sure that didn’t make everything all better. Yeah, pretty sure.

Because of the medication I’m on they wanted to rule out any physical damage I had to go for X-rays right away. I was told repeatedly it was very important that I call back in 3 days to find out the results and see whether the doctor wanted me to go for an MRI. I called and just missed office hours on the 3rd day, in my defense I figured if they said it takes 3 days to get the results in their office then it was probably closer to 3 full days and then on the 3rd afternoon I had a sick kid incident. I called on the 4th day and found out the X-ray was normal, but the nurse had to go looking for the results and had no idea if the doctor saw it or what I was supposed to do next. She said she would talk to the doctor and call me back. That was last week. I haven’t heard back from them.

So yes, things went better. There are still things that bother me. I’m flabbergasted that a doctor with her reputation seems so flummoxed by the idea that I’m so troubled by fatigue and pain. I could understand if they weren’t two of the most common symptoms of all  the stuff I’ve been diagnosed with, but I would have to guess a doctor with years of experience with these illnesses would not only expect to hear it but would be prepared to discuss it!

I’m not 100% sure that I want to stay with this doctor. I may try one more appointment. Or at least see what happens with the follow-up from the hip. But I’m curious to hear what other folks have experienced. Have you decided to change doctors because you didn’t get along with them? Did you break up with a doctor? How did you make the decision? I’d love to hear about your experiences in the comments section below.

 

 

One thought on “Second Appointment: The Aftermath

  1. Pingback: Down the Chronic Illness Rabbit Hole | I'm LEGSinger

I'd love to hear from you

